BCU appointed to Design Sounding Board

The Design Council today announced that three new trustees have joined its board: Steve Pearce from Skype, Annika Small from the Nominet Trust and Terry Tyrrell of the Brand Union. This coincides with the launch of a brand new group, a ‘sounding board’ of industry experts and design champions, which will reach out informally to the design community. Birmingham City University are delighted that Beverley Nielsen, Director Employer Engagement, at the university has been appointed as part of this newly formed group.

The Design Council’s sounding board, as a new initiative which will act as an open and inclusive platform to discuss design and contribute ideas and expertise. It comprises design champions from all aspects of design, the built environment, business and technology. The 36 initial members giving their time voluntarily to this informal group include the likes of designers Harriet Vine and Morag Myerscough, architect Sarah Wigglesworth, structural engineer Hanif Kara, as well as Alice Black from the Design Museum and Rodney Mylius, Brand Guru for Marks and Spencer.

John Mathers, CEO, Design Council said:

“We’re delighted to welcome new input and ideas from such a wide range of industry experts. Our trustees and the sounding board members are all passionate about design and will bring a fresh perspective to activities at the Design Council. We are very fortunate to be able to draw on such expertise and talent.”

The full list of members of the “sounding board” below:

  1. Carmel Allen – Brand Champion, Heals
  2. Alistair Barr – Managing Director, Barr Gazetas
  3. Ian Baverstock – Founding Partner, Tenshi Ventures
  4. Sebastian Bergne – Industrial Designer, Sebastian Bergne Ltd
  5. Alice Black – Deputy Director, Design Museum
  6. Anne-Marie Bulat – Art Director and Designer,
  7. Steve Cheliotis – Chief Executive, The Centre for Brand Analysis
  8. Bonnie Dean – CEO, Bristol and Bath Science Park
  9. Chris Downs – Principal, Method
  10. Dennis Furniss – Vice President, Design, Unilever
  11. Tom Hulme – Design Director, IDEO
  12. Hanif Kara – Design Director and Co-Founder, AKT II
  13. Anja Kluver – Digital Director, Prospect
  14. John Latham – Acting Vice Chancellor, Coventry University
  15. Sean Lewis – Founder, Brands Applied
  16. Gary Lockton – Founder , Grandad Digital
  17. Chris MacLeod – Marketing Director, Transport for London
  18. Howard Milton – Chairman, Smith & Milton
  19. Rodney Mylius – Brand Guru, Marks and Spencer
  20. Morag Myerscough – Founder, Studio Myerscough
  21. Beverley Nielsen – Director of Employer Engagement, Birmingham City University
  22. Amelia Noble – Founder and Director, Amelia Noble and Partners
  23. James O’Callaghan – Founder and Director, Eckersley O’Callaghan
  24. Giles Redmayne               – Business Director, Purpose
  25. Sarah Ronald – Founder and Managing Director, Nile – Service and Experience Design
  26. Fanny Sigler – Creative Director and Consultant
  27. Tim Stonor – Managing Director, Space Syntax
  28. Chris Thompso – Founding Partner, Viadynamics
  29. Colin Tweedy – CEO, The Building Centre
  30. Sophie Thomas – Founding Director, Thomas Matthews
  31. Serena Tierney – Head of Intellectual Property, Bircham Dyson Bell
  32. Harriet Vine – Co Founder and Creative Director, Tatty Devine
  33. Bill Wallsgrove – Head of Ideas, Brand Voice
  34. Sarah Wigglesworth – Director, Sarah Wigglesworth Architects
  35. Derek Wyatt – Founder, Amber Digital Consultancy
  36. Lawrence Zeegen – Dean of School of Design, London College of Communication

The biographies of the sounding board members can be found below: